Use of definite article with infinitive

getrotteriii

Use of definite article with infinitive

Post by getrotteriii »

I'm a relative newbie to Greek; I know enough to recognize words and, sometimes tenses and case endings. My question is regarding Philippians 2:6: Is the structure
to einai isa thew
at all comparable to what's done frequently in, say, Spanish which uses the definite article with an infinitive; this, in turn, being translated as a present participle; to wit, "the being equal with God"? Though I use the NASB and ESV, it seems to me the KJV's more economical and direct translation (which is supported by Dr. Alfred Marshall's literal translation in my Greek-English interlinear and John Calvin's translation in his commentary on the passage) is stronger.
Jason Hare

Re: Use of definite article with infinitive

Post by Jason Hare »

Hi, George.

It's a courtesy on B-Greek that we post the Greek for the verse in question, so I'll provide that here:
ὃς ἐν μορφῇ θεοῦ ὑπάρχων οὐχ ἁρπαγμὸν ἡγήσατο τὸ εἶναι ἴσα θεῷ.
Of course, the phrase in question is the last one: τὸ εἶναι ἴσα θεῷ. It's common for the neuter article to attach to an infinitive. It functions like a gerund in English, allowing the verb to behave like a noun (that is, serve as the subject of a verb, object of a verb, object of a preposition, etc.).

In this case, the verb ἡγήσατο takes two objects in the accusative, the one being held or regarded as something else. For example, you might say ἡγήσατο αὐτὸν βασιλέα, meaning that "he held him to be king."
"He did not consider (οὐχ... ἡγήσατο) being equal to God (τὸ εἶναι ἴσα θεῷ) robbery (ἁρπαγμόν)."
Some moralist might say: "I don't consider all lying a sin." A proud mother might say: "I consider my son a genius."