Koine Conversation

Resources and methods for teaching and learning New Testament Greek.
Tait Sougstad

Koine Conversation

Post by Tait Sougstad »

Hello,

I am a second-year Koine Greek student who is looking to internalize the functions of the language by speaking it. My school (Montana Bible College, Bozeman) teaches languages without a conversational component, and I want to start a conversation group here. I am painfully aware that our grammars and teaching style has given us the most useful words for Bible translation (good!), but not for conversational fluency.

Are there any resources to help me facilitate this? Has anyone done anything like this? Are there any tested formats?

Some thoughts:
Have a topic each session and print out a few useful words to help people stumble through, ie:
Family ματηρ, θυγατηρ etc.
Hometown πολις
School
Church
Hobbies

I did find the Koine-English phrasebook (http://www.letsreadgreek.com/phrasebook/default.htm) which looks like it might be helpful, but I can't help but feel that I'm stepping out into uncharted territory. Are there any groups doing this online? Am I thinking in the right direction?
Stephen Carlson

Re: Koine Conversation

Post by Stephen Carlson »

How do people feel about devoting a space in this forum for discussion practice ἐν ἑλληνιστικῇ?

Also, those who Skype can get together?
Stephen C. Carlson, Ph.D.
Melbourne, Australia
Barry Hofstetter

Post by Barry Hofstetter »

I think it's an excellent idea. Some moderator should so create a forum... :shock: :lol:
N.E. Barry Hofstetter, M.A., Th.M.
Ph.D. Student U of FL
Instructor of Latin
Jack M. Barrack Hebrew Academy
καὶ σὺ τὸ σὸν ποιήσεις κἀγὼ τὸ ἐμόν. ἆρον τὸ σὸν καὶ ὕπαγε.
Stephen Carlson

Post by Stephen Carlson »

Not all moderators have the permissions to do that.
Stephen C. Carlson, Ph.D.
Melbourne, Australia
Stephen Hughes

Post by Stephen Hughes »