Introduction to tense and aspect

Lexicons, Grammars, Reading Guides, History, Culture, and Background
Michael Sharpnack

Introduction to tense and aspect

Post by Michael Sharpnack »

What would you recommend for a good introduction to the topic of tense and aspect in the Greek verb? I would like something readable and introductory level, as I am a beginner, and don't have really any understanding of it - or linguistics in general. Or, would you recommend I stay away from the topic..?

I found this thread: https://www.ibiblio.org/bgreek/forum/vi ... f=19&t=175, and read through it, but left feeling more confused...

Thanks,
MAubrey

Re: Introduction to tense and aspect

Post by MAubrey »

I would recommend Albert Rijksbaron's book as the best starting point:

The Syntax and Semantics of the Verb in Classical Greek: An Introduction: Third Edition

Most of the New Testament stuff that currently exists has too much baggage (we're trying to change that, but writing is slow).
Mike Aubrey, Linguist
SIL International
Koine-Greek.com
Robert Emil Berge

Post by Robert Emil Berge »

I second MAubrey's suggestion. This is the best source I have seen for understanding how the Greek verbs work. It is systematic and clear about a topic which seems to be chaotic without any order to it. If you haven't yet learned about all the verb forms in whatever beginner's course you use, I would perhaps advice you to wait a bit before you read it. It is not a shortcut to the most basic stuff, and be careful not to be confused, since its approach is a bit different from most other treatments of the subject. But still, at the time when you have started learning about conditional clauses and such things it could be very helpful for understanding how tense and aspect actually work.
Jonathan Robie

Post by Jonathan Robie »

I third the suggestion.