Koine Greek Chat webpage

Tell us about interesting projects involving biblical Greek. Collaborative projects involving biblical Greek may use this forum for their communication - please contact jonathan.robie@ibiblio.org if you want to use this forum for your project.
Brett Hancock

Koine Greek Chat webpage

Post by Brett Hancock »

Hello everyone
Is there a way to type greek characters, or do I have to do a copy and paste to achieve that? :D
I am working on a website to teach early Christianity (first couple centuries), messianic prophecies to show how the apostles preached, share Koine Greek resources that I might develop over time with those learning, and some other biblical material. I am still learning Koine Greek, only been studying most days (a couple hours per day) for a bit over a year now but want to share what I can.

On my new website, I plan to provide the ability to chat, like Facebook that provides it in English, however it will be for Koine Greek students to chat with each others in greek and practice what they are learning. I will have a keyboard displayed with a visual indication of what keys are the greek alphabet, mapped similar when possible to our alphabet keys, so that users logged in can know what keys to press on their regular keyboard to produce greek characters on the screen in the Chat textbox. This is so everyone can practice Koine greek at their level with others. I believe in doing so, this repetitive natural practice of what we are learning with others, will accelerate learning, solidify it into our long term memories as has happened with English so that we can start thinking Greek, rather than have to translate. Lots of repetition does that.

Who would be interested in this sort of Chat program?