Hello

Please introduce yourself here, if you haven't already.
Carly Blackwell

Hello

Post by Carly Blackwell »

Hi, my name is Carly, and I am studying the Bible. I use the scripture4all website when I feel unsure about Hebrew or Greek translations (mostly Greek, as I am not really reading the Old Testament, less listening to it on audio every so often, in which case I am finishing up Judges).

I am hoping that this forum can be helpful in learning the Bible, as I am shocked at how the English translations can be so different from the original Greek.

Peace.

Carly
Jonathan Robie

Re: Hello

Post by Jonathan Robie »

Hi Carly,

Welcome to B-Greek!

If you stick around here for very long, you'll quickly learn that almost nobody here thinks using an interlinear like that is a good way of knowing what the original languages say. In fact, if you don't know the language any good translation is usually a better way of understanding the original unless you actually learn the languages. If you're shocked by the differences between translations and the interlinear, be suspicious of the interlinear first.

I'm guessing you are a beginner. Let me suggest that (1) you post in the Beginner's Forum, and (2) you focus on questions that show you are working on learning the language, not just using an interlinear. Without the grammar, you really can't understand the original languages, and an interlinear doesn't give you the first clue about the grammar.

Again, welcome to B-Greek!

Jonathan
ἐξίσταντο δὲ πάντες καὶ διηποροῦντο, ἄλλος πρὸς ἄλλον λέγοντες, τί θέλει τοῦτο εἶναι;
http://jonathanrobie.biblicalhumanities.org/
Barry Hofstetter

Post by Barry Hofstetter »