Χαίρετε!

Please introduce yourself here, if you haven't already.
Thomas Dolhanty

Χαίρετε!

Post by Thomas Dolhanty »

Χαίρετε,

My name is Thomas Dolhanty. I’ve been doing Koine Greek for about 7 years, and Biblical Hebrew for about 6. In 2004 I took an early retirement from my work as a senior university administrator, and my wife and I moved to a small town on the west coast of Canada where we planned to set aside 2 years to study the foundations of our faith, having become Christians 30 years earlier.

The 2 years became 6 years – 6 most wonderful years of the Lord’s grace and instruction. I learned Greek and then Hebrew as part of those studies. I did these studies on my own (I’m am a very focused student!), but have since taken intermediate and advanced courses in Hebrew at the University of British Columbia.

I have taught introductory Hebrew, and am now teaching introductory Greek. I also teach a course in Isaiah at a Bible School designed primarily for lay Christians. My primary interest in teaching Biblical languages is to instruct and encourage lay Christians who desire to learn Greek and/or Hebrew.

My wife also studies Greek and Hebrew (she is my ‘A’ student). We regret that we didn’t take up the study of Biblical languages when were first came to Christ just over 40 years ago. We both wanted to learn the languages at that time, and even purchased some books to that end, but found no encouragement from Christians leaders or brethren. In fact we were assured that such a study would be much work for little return! The great blessing, however, is that we now get to encourage others to learn Biblical Greek and Hebrew, and to assist them in that undertaking.

I’ve been registered on this site for a while now, but decided its time to become a bit more active. Ευχαριστώ πολύ to all who have established and who serve this web site. It is a great resource.

χάρις ὑμῖν καὶ εἰρήνη
Thomas
γράφω μαθεῖν
Stephen Hughes

Re: Χαίρετε!

Post by Stephen Hughes »