Hello

Please introduce yourself here, if you haven't already.
EdenMcGorlick

Hello

Post by EdenMcGorlick »

Hello,

My name is Eden McGorlick and I live in Melbourne, Australia. I studied one year of Greek using my Professor's Greek Grammar at the Bible College of Victoria some 16 years ago. I then forgot most of it, and picked it up again about five years ago, working through Mounce, dabbling with Dobson, beginning again with Randall Buth's materials, switching to Athenaze/JACT/Thrasymachus, before switching to yet another grammar: the hefty 'Learn to Read Greek' by Keller and Russell. I guess I love buying grammars and hate finishing them. I did actually work my way through all of the readings in Athenaze book 1, so that is something. My reading of the New Testament has been mostly in John, 1 John, a bit of Mark, a smaller bit of Matthew, some Revelation/Philippians/2 Corinthians with an NIGTC commentary to help me, and some Ephesians with Hoehner's commentary. I've been memorising some of Ephesians in Greek and almost had the whole of chapter 1 down before I started on something else. I did find that helpful in retrospect. I started blogging about working through Randall's material at http://esmcgorlick.wordpress.com but then as I mentioned I switched to Athenaze. I'm thinking about buying Athenaze book 2 as that is the only grammar I've actually finished so far, and I do find the story quite entertaining.