Introduction: Roger McDaniel

Please introduce yourself here, if you haven't already.
Roger McDaniel

Introduction: Roger McDaniel

Post by Roger McDaniel »

I found this site several years ago, but didn't really participate and lost track of it. Now trying to both ramp up my Greek proficiency and have a place to discuss "original language" issues and possible meanings where folk don't roll their eyes and think, "There he goes off on a Greek tangent again!"

I studied at Circleville Bible College (now Ohio Christian University) in the 80's and did pretty poorly in Greek, but somehow have managed to stick with it for 30 years. Sometimes I'd lay it down for weeks or months, sometimes I "crutched" on my interlinear, but always came back to my U.B.S. edition and tried again. For some reason, I've felt pressed to get back into it with gusto, and for the past year or so have been reading for a few minutes each day, and can make my way through the gospels and simpler epistles (i.e. 1,2,3 John) without looking up too many words in the dictionary.

Recently I discovered a "Readers Greek New Testament" in a used book store and it is AMAZING! (Basically, rather than a dictionary in the back, it assumes you have a grasp of common words, but only need help with words that occur more infrequently. These words ONLY are listed at the bottom of each page, so one can read along and only need to glance down if needed. It has saved me much time "flipping back and forth" and greatly encouraged my daily readings. I highly recommend it.)

So anyway, I am looking forward to both hearing and commenting on thoughts regarding the original language texts, of which I never cease to marvel at the depth of meaning that is only shadowed in any English translation. Be well all, and Maranatha.

RMc
Jonathan Robie

Re: Introduction: Roger McDaniel

Post by Jonathan Robie »

Welcome to B-Greek, Roger, I'm glad you found us!