How to progress to patristics?

The forum for those who still struggle with morphology, syntax, and idiom, or who wish to discuss basic questions about the meaning of Greek texts, syntax, or words.
Forum rules
This is not a place for students to ask for the answers to their homework assignments. Users who do that may be banned.
Jacob Rhoden

How to progress to patristics?

Post by Jacob Rhoden »

Hi everyone,

I am by no means an expert in reading biblical greek, but I am at the point where I can read some of the easier books of the bible in greek quite comfortably. (i.e. 1 John is a pleasure to read, but Hebrews and its frequent hapax legomena is still a bit of a nightmare.

I opened up Barnabas, and 1:1 is like, "whoo this is easy", and then 1:2 is like "errr, what on earth language is this". :D

Aside from doing daily reading in greek, is there anything specific that might help better prepare me for patristics? (I will have the privilege of doing Intermediate greek next semester, but that is 3 months away).
Wes Wood

Re: How to progress to patristics?

Post by Wes Wood »

I opened up Barnabas, and 1:1 is like, "whoo this is easy", and then 1:2 is like "errr, what on earth language is this". :D
I think you are likely selling yourself a bit short here. I would venture to say that in verse 2 the biggest hurdle you are having is vocabulary, but what do I know, right? ;)

These are some of my observations when reading the Church Fathers, but I don't presume that my limited readings are representative of the difficulties you might encounter in the corpus: