Preparing for Patristic Greek

Charlie Johnson

Preparing for Patristic Greek

Post by Charlie Johnson »

I've been studying NT Greek for several years, and can read most of the NT without difficulty. Now, I'd like to expand to the Greek Fathers. What might I need to know that I don't know already? For example, is there Attic morphology, or do they construct their sentences significantly differently? Is there a guide to Patristic Greek for people who are already familiar with NT Greek?
Mark Lightman

Re: Preparing for Patristic Greek

Post by Mark Lightman »

Some of the Apostolic Fathers write in an Atticizing style, but over all the Greek is not that different from the NT. Bauer's lexicon is great for covering some unfamiliar idioms and cruxes. You may run in to more optatives than you are used to, an occasional dual might show up. λυοντων instead of λυετωσαν. And of course you will have to expand your vocab.

It would not hurt to work through some of the excellent Classical textbooks out there, like JACT or Athenaze or Assimil et. al. But no, there is nothing you NEED to know that would prevent you from reading Patristic Greek. Greek is Greek.
James Ernest

Post by James Ernest »

LSJ, BDAG, and your favorite LXX lexicon will cover most of the vocabulary, but for more precision regarding patristic usage, there's a supplement to LSJ: A Patristic Greek Lexicon, ed. G. W. H. Lampe. Most seminary and university libraries should have it. If you plan to read a lot of patristic Greek and have the $$$, you can buy your own from OUP.
-------------------------------------------
James D. Ernest, PhD
VP, Editor-in-Chief
Wm. B. Eerdmans Publishing Co.
Grand Rapids, MI

James Ernest

Post by James Ernest »