2 Timothy 3:16

How do I work out the meaning of a Greek text? How can I best understand the forms and vocabulary in this particular text?
Forum rules
This is a beginner's forum - see the Koine Greek forum for more advanced discussion of Greek texts. Please quote the Greek text you are discussing directly in your post if it is reasonably short - do not ask people to look it up.

When answering questions in this forum, keep it simple, and aim your responses to the level of the person asking the question.
Brent Kleineibst

2 Timothy 3:16

Post by Brent Kleineibst »

Hi,

I'm still very new to biblical greek. I'm busy going through Bill Mounce's lecture series. In episode 9 he deals with adjectives and states that the gender of the adjective must agree with the noun it modifies. So I am wondering how to understand the use of the masculine (according to Robinson's Morphology) ωφέλιμος in 2 Tim 3:16.
πάσα γραφή θεόπνευστος και ωφέλιμος προς διδασκαλίαν προς έλεγχον προς επανόρθωσιν προς παιδείαν την εν δικαιοσύνη
Is this word really masculine? If so, which noun does it refer to? Or is there some other rule that I haven't learnt yet?

Regards.
Stephen Carlson

Re: 2 Timothy 3:16

Post by Stephen Carlson »

Some adjectives, and ὠφέλιμος is one of them, do not have distinct forms for masculine and feminine. It may look masculine but it's actually feminine.
Stephen C. Carlson, Ph.D.
Melbourne, Australia
Brent Kleineibst

Thanks, that makes sense. Is there any way to know when this is the case?

With the teknia course all adjectives are listed in masculine form with their endings for feminine (if different) and neuter, but my Strong's concordance doesn't seem to have anything like that. I use e-sword and the Word.
Stephen Carlson

Post by Stephen Carlson »

Brent Kleineibst wrote:Thanks, that makes sense. Is there any way to know when this is the case?