Managing Time as a Self-Taught Beginner

Drusilla Sawyer

Managing Time as a Self-Taught Beginner

Post by Drusilla Sawyer »

I'm hoping this is the correct forum for this post, but since I am a beginner and this is classified as "other," I guess it is.

Currently, I seem to be in the "lapsed" zone of self-teaching Koine Greek. I started to have an interest in this language and began teaching myself in Fall of 2012. I was progressing quite well but within the last few months, I've sort of lost my "groove." I'm at the point now where I maybe work on my Greek for 15 minutes total a day at work, only 3 days a week. Talk about slow progress, if that's what I would call it. I've grown lazy. Working has also made it hard for me, even though I'm only working part time. I work 50 miles one way away from home so I don't have much of a personal life.

Now, I am in the process of switching jobs, finally to full-time work (though it's contract work; boy what a risk I am taking) and am having the usual, unpredictable family problems. It's no wonder I have no motivation to continue studying! I really am trying to get back in the "groove" but I don't know how. That's why I am wondering if any self-taught beginners or masters have some advice for me. Should I limit my studying time to only a few days a week? Should I try to study everyday? How many minutes per day should I be doing?

I'm currently self-learning through 2 books:

1. "Learn New Testament Greek" by John H. Dobson
2. "Teach Yourself New Testament Greek" by Ian Macnair