historical present in Luke-Acts

Grammar questions which are not related to any specific text.
davidmccollough

historical present in Luke-Acts

Post by davidmccollough »

Hi, my name is David McCollough, I'm a grad student at London School of Theology and am new to B-Greek.

I am trying to determine if didotai in Acts 8:18 is a historical present or a case of metalepsis in the narrative. Several factors suggest it might not be HP according to principles in Rijksbaron, A. (2006) “On false historic presents in Sophocles (and Euripides)” in Sophocles and the Greek Language: Aspects of Diction, Syntax and Pragmatics, ed. I. J. F. de Jong and A. Rijksbaron. Leiden/Boston: 127-149; 133:

1)HPs are rare in the Passive
2)HPs are rare in subordinate clauses.

But this is Classical Greek and not Koine. Mt 27:38, for example does have a passive as a historical present.
My question is whether 1 and 2 above apply in Koine Greek.

Sir John C. Hwkins, Hore Synopticae, does not list Acts 8:18 as HP, but maybe he just overlooked it?

Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated!

David
Stephen Carlson

Re: historical present in Luke-Acts

Post by Stephen Carlson »

Acts 8:18 wrote:ἰδὼν δὲ ὁ Σίμων ὅτι διὰ τῆς ἐπιθέσεως τῶν χειρῶν τῶν ἀποστόλων δίδοται τὸ πνεῦμα,
In my view, it is unnecessary to conclude that δίδοται is an historical present. It is a present in a subordinate clause and so takes the time of its main verb (here ἰδὼν). English requires a "backshift" in tense form in these cases.

I'm not sure why it would be a case of metalepsis either. It looks like an ordinary habitual use of the imperfective.
Stephen C. Carlson, Ph.D.
Melbourne, Australia
davidmccollough