More Inductive Beginning Grammars

Textbooks, Graded Readers, Beginner Resources and links, Teaching aids, etc.
AMSpencer

More Inductive Beginning Grammars

Post by AMSpencer »

I am interested in hearing some thoughts from people who know more than I do. Having read some of the discussion on this blog, newly-discovered to me, I see that there is plenty of thought given to the manner of teaching Greek. In the realm of beginning grammars, are there good options available for a more inductive approach to learning NT Greek? The grammars that I have seen and heard high recommendations for are usually heavily based upon memorizing charts and forms. I see that there is sympathy from the readers and writers on this site to the idea that more inductive methods are more effective in the end. I have thought for years, since I studied NT Greek in college, that a better way would be to emphasize a lot more translation work a lot earlier.

Connected to that idea, it seems also that it would be somewhat valuable for the translation work to be what "authentic" Greek, that is, Greek from actual sources from the first century. In a NT Greek class, that would naturally mean primarily, if not exclusively, the New Testament itself. I remember being exposed to two Latin grammars popular in schools, Ecce Romani and Wheelock. My experience in learning Latin was from Ecce Romani. When I later encountered Wheelock, it was very different, and I was given to understand that the teacher who was using Wheelock had a great dislike for Ecce Romani because, basically, it tells a story in Latin for many chapters that is written by people today and is not "real" Latin. I feel the same basic way about Greek grammars and their translation exercises today. If all the exercises are written by people who are not native Greek speakers, isn't there a much higher probability that the native idiom of the author comes through? Wouldn't it be better to use NT passages for examples in learning basic grammar?