A Graded Reader keyed to Duff's Grammar

Textbooks, Graded Readers, Beginner Resources and links, Teaching aids, etc.
daveburt

A Graded Reader keyed to Duff's Grammar

Post by daveburt »

Introducing A Graded Reader for Duff's Elements [docx]

It lists all the verses in the SBL GNT which are readable without help after completing each chapter of Jeremy Duff's Elements of New Testament Greek. It's 103 A5 pages; from memory I think it's about 15% of the verses in the NT.

Duff is the Greek textbook we follow at Ridley Melbourne where I am studying, and I'm a software developer with an interest in growing my Greek and helping others learn. So I wrote a graded reader keyed to Duff to supplement the exercises with chunks of the Bible that students should be able to read without extra help.

The document includes a summary chart of how many verses you can read after each chapter, and a confusing graphic in the appendix showing how far through Duff you have to read to understand each word in the SBL GNT. There's another appendix showing the few morphs which occur in the NT but which Duff doesn't introduce.

The source code is available on Github: dburt/duff_graded_gnt. I built it using MorphGNT/SBLGNT by James Tauber, a Duff vocab list by Paul Denisowski, and I wrote a set of 25 regular expressions that describe the MorphGNT codes each chapter of Duff unlocks.