Expertise in Greek

Anything related to Biblical Greek that doesn't fit into the other forums.
tdbenedict

Expertise in Greek

Post by tdbenedict »

This may be a very old and ignorant and many-times answered question, and is not necessarily directly connected to this particular topic, but here it goes:

When I read about discussions re Porter, Campbell, Wallace, or [insert name here, this is not aimed at any particular person but more at a milieu of people], the topics seem very esoteric and hard (at least to the self-taught like me) to connect to actually increasing one's understanding of any text. But that's fine -- that's what laypersons always think about intra-professional discussion, regardless of the field.

But there are times when reading this forum, particularly regarding language education, where I read posts where the person posting seems to suggest that many NT Greek scholars don't have reading fluency in Greek. Since I have never been in academia for Greek, I have never known whether I am misreading or missing something.

So my silly question: do Professors of Greek have reading fluency in Greek? I've always assumed that if you stuck a text of Plato, St. John Chrysostom or Plutarch in front of any "Professor of Greek," they could just read it straight off, about the same as their first language. I assume the answer is of course they can --- that's requirement number one for being a Professor of Greek. After that, you go on the esoteric.

Tim
Tim Benedict
RandallButh

Re: Porter's SBL review of "The Greek Verb Revisited"

Post by RandallButh »