Plato's Ion, 540e (two finite verbs in the same clause?)

Discussion of Greek texts that do not fall into the other categories, including texts in other dialects or texts from other periods.
Forum rules
This is not a beginner's forum, competence in Greek is assumed.
Keith

Plato's Ion, 540e (two finite verbs in the same clause?)

Post by Keith »

Hi everyone, I am a beginner/intermediate in Greek and I'm having trouble translating this sentence and similar ones from the Ion:
"οὐκοῦν εἰ καὶ τοὺς εὖ κιθαρίζοντας διεγίγνωσκες, ὡμολόγεις ἄν, ᾗ κιθαριστὴς εἶ, ταύτῃ διαγιγνώσειν, ἀλλ' οὐχ ᾗ ἱππεύς."

My translation runs as follows: "Then, likewise, if you were determining whether people were playing the cithara well, you would agree that you are someone who knows based on the art of playing the cithara and not that of riding horses."

My specific question is: How does the εἶ function grammatically in this sentence? The ὡμολόγεις ἄν seems to anticipate either an acc. + infin. or a οτι + indic., yet neither construction appears. This issue with the εἶ shows up again a line or two later. Socrates says to Ion: "Ἐπειδὴ δὲ τὰ στρατιωτικὰ γιγνώσκεις, πότερον ᾗ στραηγικὸς εἶ γιγνωσκεις ἢ ᾗ ῥαψῳδὸς ἀγαθός;" Here, again, I don't understand how the εἶ fits into the passage. Help is much appreciated!
Barry Hofstetter

Re: Plato's Ion, 540e (two finite verbs in the same clause?)

Post by Barry Hofstetter »

Greetings, Keith. Just a reminder that B-Greek policy requires both first and last names for screen name, so if you could contact me or another moderator we would be glad to change that for you. We do normally focus specifically on biblical Greek here, but neither are we allergic to other authors. However, you might want to consider posting questions about Plato and other classical authors to textkit.com, where there are a number of people with a great deal of experience with Plato and other classical authors.

Look again carefully at your text: