Contact Information


2011-2012 NCSMA Officers

Meredith Vortress, Fayetteville Christian

VP for Newspaper
Jordan Hennessey, First Flight High

VP for Yearbook
Bethany Grayson, West Henderson High

VP for Literary Magazine
Sarah Claypoole, Providence High

VP for Electronic Communication and Online
Jessica Virtanen, T.C. Roberson High

VP for Visual Communication
Garrett Bird, Ravenscroft School

2011-2012 NCSMAA Officers

Bill Allen, East Mecklenburg High

Immediate Past President
Marva Hutchinson, Providence Senior High

Helen Velk, Ravenscroft Upper School

Lee Baldwin, Enloe High

VP Newspaper
Brenda Gorsuch, West Henderson High

VP Visual Communication
Janet Cooke, Clayton High

VP Yearbook

Disa Perry, Fayetteville Christian

VP Electronic Communication
Lori Mahaley, Franklin Academy

VP Literary Magazine
Adrienne Hollifield, C.D. Owen High

Southwest Representative
Mark Harrison, T.C. Roberson High

North-Central Piedmont Representative
Beth Lail, Statesville High

South-Central Piedmont Representative

David Jackson, Hough High

Northeast Piedmont Representative
Geoff Belcher, Wake Forest-Rolesville High

Southeast Piedmont Representative
Michael Moon, Kinston High

Northeast Representative
Robin Sawyer, First Flight High

Southeast Representative
Stephanie Crews, Heide Trask Senior High

Chairs, Education Task Force
Carol Eanes, Pender High

Task Force Members
Brandy Caton, Hickory-Grove Baptist Christ
Candace Brandt, Providence High
Erin Sharpe, Gaston Day
Lindsey Elkins, Providence High
Neal Morgan, Northwood High
Jan Reid, Cape Fear Academy
Steve Logan, Arrendell Parrott Academy
Katherine McCraw, Polk County High
Greg Keys, Lake Norman High

NCSMA Director
Monica Hill

Contact information
The NCSMA is a statewide organization that promotes excellence in scholastic journalism and encourages respect for freedom of the press.

NCSMA also promotes professional growth of journalism advisers and speaks for scholastic media in matters of curriculum and instruction that affect journalism education in North Carolina.

NCSMA serves scholastic journalism and works for its advancement. It is an arm of the School of Journalism and Mass Communication at the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill.

Mailing Address:
North Carolina Scholastic Media Association
School of Journalism and Mass Communication
284 Carroll Hall, CB# 3365
UNC-Chapel Hill
Chapel Hill, NC 27599

Phone: (919) 962-4639
Toll Free: (888) JMC-NCSM or (888) 562-6276
Fax: (919) 962-0620

E-mail Address:
NCSMA office:

NCSMA Listserv
For information about the NCSMA listservs or to be added, contact

The NCSMA website is graciously hosted by Please visit their site and enjoy "the public's library and digital archive."