Contact Information



2011 Award Winners

Literary Magazine

Online News and TV News

Award/Scholarship Forms

Contest Entry Form
Contest Self-Analysis
Principal of the Year Form
Kay Phillips Distinguished Service Award
Student Journalist of the Year










Each year the Student Journalist of the Year is selected from among the top graduating seniors in scholastic journalism programs across the state. Entrants are evaluated by journalism professionals and UNC-CH School of Journalism and Mass Communication professors. The winner receives the Rachael Rivers-Coffey Scholarship from the N.C. Press Association, valued at $2,000, and goes on to compete for scholarships in the national Journalism Education Association contest.

High school seniors who have been involved with journalism for at least two years, have at least a 3.0 unweighted GPA, and plan to study journalism and mass communication in college and pursue either as a career are eligible to apply. Applicants must submit a portfolio as well as an entry form, transcript, self evaluation of one's "journalistic life" and letters of recommendation. Portfolios must be postmarked by Feb. 15. For more information on specific entry rules, visit the Journalism Education Association Web site,

Critique services of NCSMA offer annual opportunities for students and staffs to distinguish themselves. Experts in magazine, newspaper and yearbook production judge North Carolina's scholastic publications in three classes, according to school enrollment.

Award categories include Achievement, Honor, Distinction and All North Carolina. From the latter category, Tarheel awards are presented to the highest-scoring publications in each class.

Students may also submit individual work in writing and design for awards.
Click here for descriptions of the contest categories.